Long Island Fine Art Portrait Photography

Puppy Love


This past Fall I was contacted by Roe who said she had a few dogs that were like family and wanted to have their pet portraits taken.  Her question was, “Do you do that?”.  Sure!  I do that!

But Roe had gotten sick and the shoot was postponed three times.  I finally got a call from Roe in early December and she told me that she had an appointment on the books to have the dogs groomed the first week of the New Year.  Terrific! We set a date.

Now, mind you, the holidays were in between.  And my daughter got engaged!  And I got the flu.  At this point I am so off my game by the time the shoot comes along.  Roe calls me the day before to confirm.  (THAT is an awesome client!!).  So I am chatting away with her and I say, “Remind me.  Am I photographing 3 or 4 dogs tomorrow?”.  She blurts out, “Three?”  (giggle giggle)  “Eight.  Plus the German Sheppard.  That’s nine!”  I’m thinking, “I may have gotten myself into more than I’m used to.”  I grab my friend and pet portrait photographer Joe Cubiotti for this one!

So the following day, I am all set.  My gear is charged and packed.  I head out to Roe’s house.  Knock on the door.  And, “woof woof woof woof woof woof woof woof woof”.  The door opens and eight adorable Cavalier King Charles Spaniels greet me with tails wagging and snouts sniffing and yelping with excitement. And Lexi, the gorgeous German Sheppard, approaches me with grace and curiosity to get her fill of me.

I felt like I was walking onto the set of 101 Dalmatians!  These little darlings are so cute and with personalities to boot.  Naturally I immediately drop to one knee to get ground level with them and take in their affection.  They begin to jump up and kiss me a thousand times.  Over and over again.  I’m in heaven!

But I’m here to work. Remember?  Yeah.  If you want to call it that.  I’ve learned that pet portraits are similar to toddler portraits.  It’s always a gamble.  You either get cooperation from your subject or you don’t.  And there is not much you can do to change that.

Fortunately for me, these dogs were ready for their close ups!  The group shot was a ‘horse of a different color’.  But we got that shot, eventually!  One by one they sat on the couch that Roe had prepared for the shoot.  The pictures came out great!

As I was leaving Roe informed me that she has a Rag Doll cat that she wants photographed next month.  I’m seeing the next product cover for Fancy Feast cat food.

Leave a Reply

