Long Island Fine Art Portrait Photography

Frozen

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I spent the majority of the past two days hiding indoors.  An unusual, day-after-Christmas, blizzard socked Long Island with a one – two punch of wind and snow.  It was not nice out there.

I typically like to get out and venture around on a snowy day with my camera, but the wind was brutal and made it very difficult to attempt a winter photography adventure.  But peeking from the many windows around my home at the perfect, white landscape just didn’t cut it.  It got the best of me.  So I grabbed my camera and headed out just before the sun was ready to set below the horizon.

I couldn’t drive very far because the roads were not in great condition.  I ended up in Brightwaters facing an empty canal, half frozen over.  The sky began to pick up some beautiful hues as the sun was setting.  The combination of water, ice and the late afternoon winter sky offered up some superb colors.

Here are a few of the images that I captured on a frozen late afternoon on Long Island.

Joanne Henig Photography

2 responses

  1. Kim

    Nice job Joanne..!!

    December 28, 2010 at 7:31 pm

Leave a Reply

